WIP

So I mentioned awhile back that I was taking a quilting class.  My mother taught me to sew when I was 10.  I quickly starting making my clothes (it was that or hand me downs as I was one of 7).  There were always plenty of sewing machines around and my mother never denied me(that I remember) a new piece of fabric.  I have loved sewing ever since, but now I sew more for my own enjoyment than for necessity (unless you call a set of pillowcases for every occasion a necessity, but that is a whole other subject). Anyway, I have always wanted to quilt(something my mother did not have a great interest in). My older sister and I are taking a banner of the month quilt class and here is what I am working on:

wip 004

I have finished the top and have pinned the layers together and now I am ready to quilt it.  This is the part that scares me the most as I know that it can make or break the quilt.  Well, I have put it off long enough(excuse after excuse, did not have a walking foot, did not have a free motion foot).  I now have all the right tools and tonight will be quilting! Wish me luck.

wip 008

wip 006

wip 007

Here are some other things that I have in the works:

wip 001

I also love to crochet and have recently found some Amigurumi patterns online.  Can you guess what it is going to be?

wip 002

Also, putting together a housewarming gift to send to my sister who just moved from California to Texas.  I will show it as I work on it.

Well, I am off to quilt, chat tomorrow.

3 Comments

Filed under crochet, Quilting, Sewing

3 responses to “WIP

  1. crochetoholic

    Hello there, I love the bird design and the blue material and is that an octopus in crochet? Cute….I just started with the Amigurumi too and made a snowball baby and an owl. They are fun to play with.. I got your name from the Apron swap, and so I like your blog and thought I would drop a line…. my blog http://pbdesigns.blogspot.com if you want to take a look…I also have a buttons swap on flickr http://www.flickr.com/groups/384144@N20/ lots of fun to exchange interesting buttons…my favorites to embellish everything.. 🙂

  2. mysewcalledlife

    Yes, you guessed it. When I am done it will be an octopus. Thanks for the comment, I love your blog and I think I am going to join the button swap. I am really excited about the Apron Swap. It will be my first swap!
    Jacquie

  3. lululollylegs

    I just love the colours you have used for your little quilt – lovely!

Leave a Reply

